Turkey, Cranberry and Monterey Jack Cheese Sandwich

I just now had to look up the date of the American Thanksgiving. I was sure it was this coming weekend, as I have been seeing articles and ideas about what to cook and how to decorate and ways to maintain your sanity for weeks now.

Now that I’ve found out that it’s not Thanksgiving until next weekend, I’m more exasperated with the trend of incredibly long lead-in times before holidays than before. I shouldn’t let it bother me, being that I live in a country that’s already celebrated Thanksgiving this year, but it does make me jealous.

Jealous of what?

Of Thanksgiving dinner leftovers. Of the possibility of turkey soup, mashed potato croquettes and waffles made out of stuffing. But making me most jealous of all: a chance at making these sandwiches. They are so tasty that I sometimes cheat and buy smoked turkey so I can cure my craving for them any time of the year.

This is my attempt to reproduce another of my favourite sandwiches from the late, lamented Hughie’s restaurant on Front Street in Toronto. Hopefully I’m not jumping the gun by writing about what to do with leftovers too early.

Here’s what to do.

Begin by finding a really good loaf of bread.

A really nice loaf of bread.

A really nice loaf of bread.

Slice a couple of pieces of bread and cover one side of one slice with mayonnaise.

Spread mayonnaise on one side of one slice.

Spread mayonnaise on one side of one slice.

Add a layer of turkey.

Layer on some turkey.

Layer on some turkey.

Slather some of the leftover cranberry sauce on top of the turkey.

Coat with cranberry sauce.

Coat with cranberry sauce.

Top that with a layer of Monterey Jack cheese.

Top with Monterey Jack cheese.

Top with Monterey Jack cheese.

Add the last piece of bread (making a sandwich!), butter the bread and place in a fry pan over medium-low heat.

Another piece of bread, buttered and ready for the frypan.

Another piece of bread, buttered and ready for the frypan.

Cook until golden on both sides and the cheese is melted.

One side done.

One side done.

One Turkey, Cranberry and Monterey Jack Cheese Sandwich, served with fries and a pickle.

Turkey, Cranberry and Monterey Jack Cheese Sandwich.

Turkey, Cranberry and Monterey Jack Cheese Sandwich.

Not a precise listing of amounts here. Check out the photographs and use your own best judgement!

List of ingredients

Bread
Mayonnaise
Leftover turkey
Leftover cranberry sauce
Monterey Jack cheese
Butter

Leave a Reply

