Books

Not too long ago, I was catching up with a friend over lunch. We were covering all the standard topics: movies seen, television watched, music listened to, books read. I had answers for all but the last question, as I haven’t been reading much fiction lately.

Cookbooks was my answer. I read a lot of cookbooks. And I have a lot of cookbooks. Shelves and shelves of them. And there’s a pile of them beside my bed and because of some recent good fortune, a new stack in the living room. I entered the ‘Cookbooks for a Year’ contest offered by Eat In Eat Out magazine (http://eatineatout.ca/) and won twelve new cookbooks. Yay!

Twelve new cookbooks.

Twelve new cookbooks.

I may not have bought all of these books on my own, but I am enjoying going through them, adding yellow sticky notes to recipes I’d like to try. Thank you again, Eat In Eat Out magazine.

Around the same time, I entered a contest that The Cookbook Store in Toronto (http://www.cook-book.com/) had on their Facebook page. I helped them celebrate their 30th year in business by winning second prize in their ‘Picture This Dish’ photo contest. The task was to make, then photograph a dish from a favourite cookbook. I made Whole Baked Cauliflower with Tomato and Olive Sauce.

Prize winning photograph.

Prize winning photograph.

Second prize was the prize I wanted to win: an autographed copy of the latest book by Nigella Lawson, Nigellissima. I am putting yellow sticky notes all over this book too. Thank you Cookbook Store!

Nigellissima.

Nigellissima.

As a result of the recent good luck I had going, I figured I’d better buy a lottery ticket or two.

Losing lottery tickets.

Losing lottery tickets.

Not one matching number on either of the two tickets. Is the winning streak over? I guess as far as winning the lottery… yes, as I’m not going to waste any more money on tickets for a while. I would have been further ahead to have spent the $10.00 on a bottle of wine.

Then came more sadness: my favourite book store in Toronto was closing. After operating for over 40 years, the owner of the Nicholas Hoare book store (http://www.nicholashoare.com/) on Front Street is retiring and closing the last of the stores. I’ve spent hours in the store since discovering it.

The shop is beautiful, with custom made shelves and fittings. The books were, for the most part, displayed with their covers facing out to make it easier to judge them. And an incredible selection of books… chosen with care, which made it easy to take a chance on buying a book I didn’t know anything about. There was always a knowledgeable staff who left me alone while I browsed but answered any questions when I asked.

I made tracks to the shop to have a last walk through before it closed on April 1st.

Coming from St. Lawrence Market.

Approaching.

Approaching.

Inside the door.

Inside.

Inside.

Made sure I pushed the sliding ladders one last time.

Sliding ladders.

Sliding ladders.

Didn’t get too upset that someone was in my spot on the couch.

Comfortable seats.

Comfortable seats.

Checked out all the books.

Freestanding 8-sided bookshelves.

Freestanding 8-sided bookshelves.

Shelves of books.

Shelves of books.

Admired the details.

Top of a bookshelf.

Top of a bookshelf.

Divider.

Divider.

Listened to the way the floor creaked as I walked.

Pushed the sliding ladder back to where it was.

Wall of books.

Wall of books.

Looked out the front window at the Gooderham Building (aka Flatiron Building) across the street.

Front of store.

Front of store.

Went to the cashier’s desk…

Cashier's desk.

Cashier’s desk.

And bought a book. Not a cookbook, but so very close. It was As Always, Julia: The Letters of Julia Child and Avis DeVoto, by Joan Reardon.

Here it is on my nightstand. I am reading a book that isn’t a cookbook for the first time in a while. Thank you Nicholas Hoare.

As Always, Julia: The Letters of Julia Child and Avis DeVoto.

As Always, Julia: The Letters of Julia Child and Avis DeVoto.

6 thoughts on “Books

  1. Loved your article on the book store… Reminded of the movie You’ve Got Mail… I’m a sucker for those type of movies lol! Very informative indeed About other cook books. Thank you.

    • If I had made it to the the children’s section at the back of the store, it would certainly have reminded you of that movie. They could have shot ‘You’ve Got Mail’ there.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Bread Pudding | what food i made

  3. Pingback: Pasta Risotto with Peas and Pancetta | what food i made

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Salame | what food i made

  5. Pingback: New York Corn Muffins | what food i made

Leave a Reply

