Pasta with Pancetta and Zucchini

What would I make with my homemade pasta, to celebrate the fact that I’d actually made homemade pasta?
Something amazing with high end ingredients like foie gras or caviar or truffles to make a showstopper dish of incredible flavour and complexity?

Not quite.

To celebrate the creation of pasta at whatfoodimade headquarters, I decided to use it in a recipe I’m certain I came up with on my own. I don’t actually have any proof of this and because I’ve seen it on websites since I started making it years ago, it’s entirely possible I’m mistaken. Perhaps I read it without writing the recipe down and was able to recreate it… it’s not that complicated.

What is complicated—now that I’ve made this so many times and no longer think about it much when I assemble the dish—is writing a recipe that someone else might be interested in trying to make. Here are the broad stroke look-and-cook photos to entice.

Get the ingredients.

There’s pasta.

homemade pasta

Homemade pasta.

And pancetta.

pancetta

Pancetta.

There’s garlic.

garlic

Garlic.

And zucchini.

zucchini, quartered and halved

Zucchini, quartered and halved.

Cook the pancetta.

cooking the pancetta

Cooking the pancetta.

Add the zucchini and garlic.

And while that is going on, cook the pasta.

cooking the pasta

Cooking the pasta.

Drain the pasta, then add it to the fry pan with the pancetta and zucchini. Toss to mix and serve with grated Parmesan.

pasta with pancetta and zucchini


Pasta with pancetta and zucchini.

Pasta with Pancetta and Zucchini
Serves 2

2 tsp. olive oil
1/2 lb. pasta (fresh if you have it)
6 slices pancetta, chopped
2 medium zucchini, sliced in half, then quartered
3 cloves garlic, sliced
1/2 grated Parmesan
1/2 cup cream (optional)

Add olive oil to a large fry pan and cook the pancetta over medium heat until very slightly browned. Add the zucchini and cook it until it softens. Turn the heat down and add the garlic, cooking until softened.

Meanwhile cook the pasta in boiling salted water. Drain the pasta, reserving 1/3 cup of the pasta water.

Add the drained pasta to the fry pan with the pancetta, zucchini and garlic. Toss to mix with the reserved pasta water. Serve in bowls with the Parmesan and some freshly grated black pepper sprinkled over.

Sometimes I add 1/2 cup cream and the Parmesan to the mixture in the fry pan before adding the pasta. Both ways are good.

Leave a Reply

