Cheese-Craisin Noodle Kugel

I wish I had an Aunt Martha or Lorraine or Sadie to pass down a traditional family recipe for kugel to me, but I don’t. Will I let this deter me from making kugel? Not a chance.

I found a recipe which looked very promising in The World of Jewish Cooking by Gil Marks. I feel that not being Jewish allows me to mess around with the recipe a bit, hopefully free from retribution. I didn’t have any egg noodles when the kugel mood hit me, so I used tagliatelle instead. Once I had made that substitution, I decided to mess around a bit more and made another switch: cherry flavoured craisins for raisins. Maybe this will be the start of a whole new tradition!

My take on kugel.
There was tagliatelle pasta.

tagliatelle

Tagliatelle.

Which was cooked and coated with butter.

pasta was cooked, then coated in butter

Pasta was cooked, then coated in butter.

There were eggs.

eggs

Eggs.

And sugar.

sugar

Sugar.

There was sour cream.

sour cream

Sour cream.

And there was cottage cheese.

cottage cheese

Cottage cheese.

Everything but the pasta and the Craisins were mixed together.

everything except the pasta and the Craisins mixed together

Everything except the pasta and the Craisins mixed together.

My new kugel ingredient! Cherry-flavoured Craisins.

cherry-flavoured Craisins

Cherry-flavoured Craisins.

Baked for 45 minutes, it’s Cheese-Craisin Noodle Kugel.

cheese-craisin noodle kugel

Cheese-Craisin Noodle Kugel.

The original recipe can be found here: http://www.jewishfood-list.com/recipes/kugel/sweet_kugel/noodlekugelchsraisin01.html

Cheese-Craisin Noodle Kugel
Adapted (slightly) from The World of Jewish Cooking by Gil Marks
Serves: 4 to 6

Ingredients

8 oz tagliatelle noodles, broken into smaller pieces
1/4 cup butter
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
8 oz. small-curd cottage cheese
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup dried cherry-flavoured Craisins

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8″ square (2-quart) baking dish.

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add the noodles and cook until tender. Drain. Place noodles back in the pot. Add the butter and stir until butter is melted and noodles are all coated.

Beat together the eggs, sugar, vanilla and salt. Stir in the cheese and sour cream. Add all to noodles and coat well. Add Craisins.

Pour into the prepared baking dish. Bake until golden brown, about 45 minutes.

Serve warm or at room temperature as a side dish or dessert.

Leave a Reply

