Lemon Yogurt Cake

This is a rare recipe from Ina Garten. Not rare because I don’t cook from her books often… I do. Nor is it rare because it tastes so very good and is a snap to make… Ina’s recipes never fail me. It’s rare because it doesn’t require any butter and Ina’s recipes usually do. Lots of butter, in fact.

Instead, it uses vegetable oil and yogurt, which apparently makes it good for you. I hope so, as I’m gonna eat the entire cake over the next week or so.

Some ingredients:

salt

Salt.

eggs

Eggs.

lemons

Lemons.

lemon zest

Lemon zest.

Ready to go into the oven:

lemon cake, pre baking

Lemon cake, ready for the oven.

Out of the oven:

lemon yogurt cake, postbaking

Lemon yogurt cake, baked.

In the past, I’ve found that putting the glaze on this cake is lovely at first but sticky in the end. Plus, I didn’t have any confectioners’ sugar which is half of the ingredients for the top. So I left the glaze off.

Ready to eat… especially good with Earl Grey tea:

sliced lemon yogurt cake

Slices of lemon yogurt cake.

Click here for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

